Baltimore Ravens: Ray Lewis Among 27 Semifinalists for NFL Hall of Fame

FOXBORO, MA - JANUARY 20: Ray Lewis /

Former Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis has been announced as one of 27 semifinalists to be inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 2018.

Former Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis has been announced as one of 27 semifinalists to be inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in 2018.

Typically the bylaws for the NFL Hall of Fame state that 25 semifinalists be listed each year, however, the bylaws also state that every player tied for the 25th spot should be included as a semifinalist, which is why there are 27 this year.

Lewis played 17 seasons for the Baltimore Ravens, won two Super Bowls, went to 13 Pro Bowls, won Defensive Player of The Year twice, won Super Bowl MVP in 2000, and was a seven-time first-team All-Pro.

Lewis was drafted with the 26th overall pick of the 1996 NFL Draft, the second pick the Baltimore Ravens had in that draft (their first being offensive lineman and Hall of Famer Jonathan Ogden with the fourth-overall pick).

The list of semifinalists breaks down like this:

  • RBs: 2;
  • WRs: 5;
  • OL: 5;
  • DL: 3;
  • LB: 3;
  • DB: 7; and
  • Two coaches.

More from Baltimore Ravens

The full list of semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame includes:

  • Steve Atwater – S, Tampa Bay Buccaneers;
  • Ronde Barber – CB/S, Tampa Bay Buccaneers;
  • Tony Boselli – OT, Jacksonville Jaguars, Houston Texans;
  • Isaac Bruce – WR, Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, San Francisco 49ers;
  • LeRoy Butler – S, Green Bay Packers;
  • Don Coryell – Coach, St. Louis Cardinals, San Diego Chargers;
  • Roger Craig – RB, San Francisco 49ers, Los Angeles Raiders, Minnesota Vikings;
  • Brian Dawkins – S, Philadelphia Eagles, Denver Broncos;
  • Alan Faneca – OG, Pittsburgh Steelers, New Your Jets, Arizona Cardinals;
  • Torry Holt – WR, St. Louis Rams, Jacksonville Jaguars;
  • Steve Hutchinson – OG, Seattle Seahawks, Minnesota Vikings, Tennessee Titans;
  • Joe Jacoby – OT, Washington Redskins;
  • Edgerrin James – RB, Indianapolis Colts, Arizona Cardinals, Seattle Seahawks;
  • Jimmy Johnson – Coach, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins;
  • Ty Law – CB, New England Patriots, New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs, Denver Broncos;
  • Ray Lewis – LB, Baltimore Ravens;
  • John Lynch – FS, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Denver Broncos;
  • Kevin Mawae – C/OG, Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets, Tennessee Titans;
  • Karl Mecklenburg – LB, Denver Broncos;
  • Randy Moss – WR, Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots, Tennessee Titans, San Francisco 49ers;
  • Leslie O’Neal – DE, San Diego Chargers, St. Louis Rams, Kansas City Chiefs;
  • Terrell Owens – WR, San Francisco 49ers, Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills, Cincinnati Bengals;
  • Simeon Rice – DE, Arizona Cardinals, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Denver Broncos, Indianapolis Colts;
  • Richard Seymour – DE/DT, New England Patriots, Oakland Raiders;
  • Brian Urlacher – LB, Chicago Bears;
  • Everson Walls – CB, Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Cleveland Browns; and
  • Hines Ward – WR, Pittsburgh Steelers.

Considering all of the accolades that Lewis has along with two Super Bowl wins and a Super Bowl MVP award, it would be a surprise if he didn’t get inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Next: Just How Good is the Ravens' Defense?

With over 2,000 career tackles, 41.5 sacks, and 31 interceptions, Lewis is without a doubt, one of the greatest linebackers in the history of the NFL.