Baltimore Orioles: Manny Machado a finalist for 2015 Gold Glove


The finalists for the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award were announced today and Manny Machado is the lone member of the Baltimore Orioles to receive the honor.

The other finalists for the award at third base are the Texas Rangers’ Adrian Beltre and Evan Longoria of the Tampa Bay Rays. The winner will be announced on Nov. 10.

When – yes, I am that confident – he wins the award on Nov. 10, it will be his second Gold Glove after also receiving the honor following the 2013 season. He was also the recipient of the Platinum Glove that season, which is given to the best defender at any position. It’s unlikely that the 23-year-old wins a second Platinum Glove, but he is certainly capable of winning several more in his future.

Machado should win the award at third base in a landslide despite committing a career-high 21 errors. He is an absolute joy to watch in the infield, making difficult plays look routine. He makes all the stops in the infield and it’s seems as though he’s making another highlight reel play night after night. We truly are blessed to have such a talent in Baltimore.

This marks the first time the Orioles have had just one player named a finalist since 2011. They have had multiple winners, including three Gold Glove winners the past three seasons, but injury has a lot to do with.

Center fielder Adam Jones was not named a finalist after winning the award the last three seasons. Jones, a four-time Gold Glove winner, had a variety of injuries that sidelined him in the latter part of the season. The finalist for center field are Kevin Kiermaier, Kevin Pillar and Mike Trout.

J.J. Hardy has won three straight Gold Gloves and could make a case that he deserves another. He only committed three errors this season, but like Jones, missed a good portion of the season due to injury.

Matt Wieters has also won Gold Gloves in the past, but was limited to just 55 games behind the plate after recovering from Tommy John surgery.

Baltimore has a history of producing Gold Glove winners as they have the most winners in American League history with 70. They trail only the St. Louis Cardinals for the most in MLB history, who have had 85 winners.

Here is the remainder of the finalists for the American League, with an asterisk next to the player I predict to win the award:

More from Baltimore Orioles

Mark Buehrle – Blue Jays
Sonny Gray – Athletics
*Dallas Keuchel – Astros*

Jason Castro – Astros
Russell Martin – Blue Jays
*Salvador Perez – Royals*

First Base
Eric Hosmer – Royals
Mike Napoli – Rangers
*Mark Teixeira – Yankees*

Second Base
*Jose Altuve – Astros*
Brian Dozier – Twins
Ian Kinsler – Tigers 

Live Feed

San Diego Padres: The dream starting lineup for the 2024 season
San Diego Padres: The dream starting lineup for the 2024 season /

Friars on Base

  • Padres financial bombshell proves Dodgers' rival in more trouble than we thoughtDodgers Way
  • 3 areas where the San Diego Padres fell way short in 2023Friars on Base
  • San Diego Padres injury news: Manny Machado undergoes surgery, so what's next?Friars on Base
  • San Diego Padres morning after: Manny Machado may be trying to prove a pointFriars on Base
  • MLB rumors: Macado on blast again, Padres toxic relationship, Correa injuryFanSided
  • Third Base
    Adrian Beltre – Rangers
    Evan Longoria – Rays
    *Manny Machado – Orioles*

    Xander Bogaerts – Red Sox
    *Alcides Escobar – Royals*
    Didi Gregorius – Yankees

    Left Field
    Yoenis Cespedes – Tigers
    Brett Gardner – Yankees
    *Alex Gordon – Royals*

    Center Field
    Kevin Kiermaier – Rays
    *Kevin Pillar – Blue Jays*
    Mike Trout – Angels

    Right Field
    Kole Calhoun – Angels
    *J.D. Martinez – Tigers*
    Josh Reddick – Athletics

    Next: Evaluating MLBTR's Evaluation of the Orioles

    More from The Baltimore Wire